top of page

Fostering Grace

Foster: ˈfôstər,ˈfästər/verb To encourage or promote the development of (something, typically something regarded as good). synonyms:encourage, promote, further, stimulate, advance, forward, cultivate, nurture, strengthen, enrich

Grace: It is defined as the "unmerited favor of God". Unconditional love.

“Grace is a love that has nothing to do with you, the beloved. It has everything and only to do with the lover. Grace is irrational in the sense that it has nothing to do with weights and measures. It has nothing to do with my intrinsic qualities or so-called “gifts” (whatever they may be). It reflects a decision on the part of the giver, the one who loves, in relation to the receiver, the one who is loved, that negates any qualifications the receiver may personally hold…. Grace is one-way love.” (https://whatsinthebible.com/what-is-grace-christian-meanings/


What better understanding of love can we foster, champion, nurture, promote in the lives of foster children that come into our homes than THIS kind of understanding? It places the responsibility of love on the parent, regardless of the child's issues, background, circumstances. It lays a foundational understanding of God's love. It creates a safe haven for tired and weary souls. Wounded and neglected hearts. A haven we can provide.

A Foundational Love

I was told that first week in the hospital that she was going to have attachment issues. I was told that kids like her wouldn't really know how to love or get attached. I was warned that getting attached to her would be devastating for me. My reason for loving her was questioned time and time again. I was told I was an angel and that there was no way loving her could ever be an option for them. They said, losing her to the system, to the judge, to the bio family would just be too hard. Too costly. So it just wasn't an option for them. And yet, there she was. Fashioned, designed by the hand of God just waiting to be held and loved. Costly for me? Maybe. But worth every single second.


I am so grateful that God's love for me is not based on my circumstances or whether or not I'm worthy of his love. I'm so grateful that he never once decided that loving me would be too costly. Too painful. Too hard. Cause in reality, loving me IS too costly- was too costly, even unto death. He didn't just risk his life to love me. Jesus GAVE up his life because He loved me. His love and his innocence took him to the cross where he suffered, was beaten and bruised in my place.


This kind of love is foundational. It breaks all boundaries of measures and weights and qualifications. He takes me in as his own and says, because I love you I will suffer in your place. You are my mine.









68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page